World Cup here, Ruturaj Gaikwad was fired by the BCCI from the Twenty20 WC, and K Srikkanth says, “Team selection is all about favoritism.”

The ‘Men in Blue’ team for the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup was revealed by the Board of Control for Cricket (BCCI) on April 30.
While some have deemed it appropriate, others disagree with the selection committee headed by Ajit Agarkar. Some previous players expressed their displeasure with Rinku Singh’s removal, while others questioned the selection of all-rounder Hardik Pandya as vice captain in the World Cup.

In the meantime, cricket veteran K Srikkanth, who won the 1983 World Cup, attacked the BCCI selection committee for not considering Ruturaj Gaikwad. He even accused Gaikwad of favoritism and compared him to Shubman Gill.
K Srikkanth claimed, via his YouTube channel, “Ruturaj Gaikwad scored over 500 runs in 17 Twenty20 International innings. He also hit a century in the match against Australia. Although Shubman Gill is not in form, why is he in the team?

“Shubman Gill is the selectors’ delight,” he continued. Even if he fails, he still gets a chance. Despite failing in Tests, ODIs, and T20s, he manages to secure a place. The selecting process is too biased. The selection of the team is purely biased.”
Considering Gaikwad’s performance in the IPL 2024, he has amassed 509 runs at a strike rate of 146.68 and an average of 63.63 in 10 innings.

Regarding Rinku Singh’s exclusion, Srikkanth
Along with Gaikwad, Srikkanth also voiced his displeasure that Rinku Singh was left out of India’s 15-man T20 World Cup roster. “This is rubbish, rubbish decision,” remarked Srikkanth, criticizing the choice. Why are four spinners needed? Do they all have to leave? You’ve chosen the best option and made Rinku Singh a scapegoat.

Ajit Agarkar on the omission of Rinku Singh:
Indian captain Rohit Sharma and top selector Ajit Agarkar of the BCCI spoke to the media on May 2. They attempted to address a number of difficult queries like the strike rate of Virat Kohli, the vice-captaincy of Hardik Pandya, the exclusion of KL Rahul, and the exclusion of Rinku Singh from the team of fifteen players in the World Cup.

In response to a query regarding Rinku Singh, Agarkar stated, “The hardest choice was to exclude Rinku Singh. Nothing to do with Rinku is involved. Two wrist spinners seemed like an extra spin option for Rohit. That’s how close he was—he’s in the reserves.”

India T20 World Cup Squad

Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj.

Reserve: Alongside Shubman Gill, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan, Rinku Singh is on the reserve list.

T20 World Cup 2024: On June 1st, the USA and West Indies will host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. India is paired with co-hosts the United States of America, Ireland, Canada, and bitter rival Pakistan in Group A of the ICC competition. India’s June 5 match against Ireland will take place in New York, and on June 9 they will play Pakistan in the World Cup.

Also Read:

Leave a Comment